Tags

, , , , ,

leaveittobeaver

“Hope deferred makes a heart sick, but a longing fulfilled is a tree life.” ~ Proverbs 13:12

“And so was fulfilled what the Lord had said through the prophet…” ~ said 3 different times in reference to 3 different prophecies in Matthew 2:13-23

Ok, well I’m about out of time for this week.  In fact, I almost just threw in the towel on this writing thing because time was slipping away and there has kind of been another big thing happening this week that has our nation’s attention (actually, that certain thing kind of goes along with this post as well).  I’ve actually had an idea of something to write about since the end of last week so I might as well get to it.

Do you ever wonder why things happen as they do?  How they happen?  Why certain events unfold as they do?  Even, why did God choose that to happen or come about?  I know, deep questions, and one’s we can’t really answer.  This is what came to my mind though as I meditated on the second Scripture reference above as it came up in my bible reading during the past week.  As I read the repeated phrase of “And so was fulfilled what the Lord had said through the prophet…” my mind wandered and thought, “now why did God choose that (those events or even prophecies)?”  I mean, what’s the significance of Jesus being called out of Egypt or his parents having to escape there after his birth?  Or, did Jesus have to be a Nazarene as it mentions after the phrase is repeated the 3rd time.  The 2nd prophecy mentioned is the hardest as it pertains to all young boys 2-years-old and younger being killed.  Did that really have to happen!? Could God have chosen something else?

As I was thinking along these lines I was then reminded of the first verse I list above as it’s one I’ve carried with me these last few years as well.  That led me to think, “I wonder what God has fulfilled for me along the way that I maybe haven’t noticed? Or, and this is what really got me… that I’ve questioned him on, complained about, or pissed and moaned over? 

These events in Matthew 2 are actually things that lead up to the best event in history, Jesus dying and rising again.  That’s what we celebrate as God’s most loving act.  Also the events show the fulfillment of certain things in history and the Old Testament, which then shows that God is faithful and has a plan and a purpose.

Early on last week (now almost 2 weeks ago) a part of Psalm 40 stuck out to me as I read it as well—“Happy are those who make the Lord their trust (vs. 4).”  It was about a year ago now that a mentor of mine made the observation of me that I have a hard time with trust.  This actually surprised me at first, but I did come to agree with him.  Especially after I read the book The Shack shortly thereafter.  You’ll have to read it, or see the movie coming out in March, to see what I mean.

Well, to get to my point about this post.  I imagine many of you recognize the picture at the beginning of this post and the TV show that goes along with it.  Although, it does age me.  Actually, I knew the reruns, and then there was a version in color that came out in the 80’s with the Beaver, Wally, and the gang all grown up.  When I played baseball in high school, as I approached the batter’s box once a parent shouted out, “Leave it to Weaver, he’ll hit the ball!”  This caught on and became a regular chant I’d hear as my high school career continued.  I came to love hearing this.  It gave me confidence, and I loved to prove the parents right and come through.  I even miss it today.  Anybody want to get that going again 😉 ?

Actually, that’s the point to this post right there.  When it comes to this life and the events or circumstances therein, I don’t dare leave it to this weaver or any other for that matter.  But to the Grand Weaver, himself.  He’ll keep his promises and prove to be right, good, merciful and gracious, faithful, loving, and true.

“But I trust in you, O Lord; I say, ‘You are my God.’ My times are in your hand. ~ Psalm 31:14-15a 

“But I trust in your unfailing love; my heart rejoices in your salvation. I will sing the Lord’s praise, for he has been good to me.” ~ Psalm 13:5-6 (following the Psalmist’s lament)

