Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Image

“Joseph had a dream…” ~ Genesis 37:5

“Ooh dream weaver
I believe you can get me through the night…” ~ Dream Weaver by Gary Wright

I just caught you singing didn’t I?  Don’t stop on account of me…
More than likely, when you came across this blog this song probably ran across your mind.  Initially, when thinking about blog titles, “Dream Weaver” was about all I could think of, but I really didn’t want to use it.  I wanted to come up with something more original, thought and emotion provoking, and something that resonated deep within me.  Dream Weaver just didn’t quite cut it.  Mostly, it seemed just too obvious of an option.

The song itself was written and released in December 1975.  That’s just short of 4 years before I was born.  Now I probably just caught you doing math in your head to guess how old I am.  I’ll save you the trouble; 34 (at the time of this post).  And I’ve had my share of dreams…

Mike Singletary (former star Linebacker for the Chicago Bears) once said while he was the head coach of the San Francisco 49er’s, “A dream ends up being passive, accommodating disappointment.”  Now, I am using this a little out of context (so cut Mr. Singletary some slack), but I can also resonate with this comment as well.  Mostly, it seems a lot of my dreams have only afforded me many wounds as it seems quite a bit of disappointment has come from them.

I wonder if this is how Joseph from the book of Genesis in the Bible felt.  His story begins with two dreams, each of them with the same meaning (meaning it was definitely going to come true—see Gen. 41:32) that he would one day reign over his brothers (of whom he was the second youngest) and his whole family.  But from his dreams seems to come one disappointment after another, although the story never alludes to whether he ever felt disappointment or not.

The word dream comes up 23 different times alone in the account of Joseph in Genesis 37-50.  Genesis 40:46 says Joseph was 30 years old when he entered the service of Pharaoh in Egypt (he was 17 when he had his initial dreams).  His brothers didn’t come to visit him in Egypt until sometime after 7 years of abundance and the following 7 years of famine began.  So you could say it took at least 13 years for his dream to come true, and over 20 years until he was reunited with his family.  After being thrown into a pit, sold into slavery, written off as dead, wrongfully accused and put in prison, and forgotten about (Genesis 40:23), there had to be times when Joseph’s heart was about sick (“Hope deferred makes a heart sick, but a longing fulfilled is a tree of life” ~ Prov. 13:12).  Thankfully there’s more to the story.

In certain ways dreams can seem to breed suffering.  Thankfully, however, suffering is known to breed perseverance; perseverance, character; and character, hope.  “And hope does not disappoint us, because God has poured out his love into our hearts by the Holy Spirit, whom he has given us.” ~ Romans 5:3-5

Gary Wright once said that his song was about “Someone with infinite compassion and love carrying us through the night of our trials and suffering. None other than God Himself.”  God is the Grand Weaver of dreams, wounds, disappointments, whatever… He creates much good out of utter chaos (Genesis Ch. 1).

