Tags

, , , ,

Quite possibly my favorite poem that I have written, and one of my first…
November 22, 2004

Potential In You (linked to Jeremiah sermon, Shaping Love)

What I see in you…
A masterful creation tried through and through.
One who has been faced with trials and turned blue.
One who has risen,
Being ransomed, healed, restored, and forgiven.

Why such damaging trials you ask?
So that you may learn to stand tall in any task.
So that you may be formed and shaped as brass,
Having to endure burning assault to acquire beautiful elegance.

In this I say take joy in suffering (James 1:2-4).
For you will become mature and complete, lacking in nothing
Such harassing trials will strengthen your faith,
Which is as infinitely valuable as grace (I Peter 1:6-7)

Don’t you see that there is so much in you?
So much that I must refine and raise you up anew.
I can’t just allow you to remain who you are,
For there are heights to fly and plains to cross afar.

I died on the cross so you could be free.
I strived through knowing you needed me.
The pains endured were for the sake of you being able to fulfill your destiny.
Take courage and let me form you effectively.

Potentially you will be able to soar.
Conquering all that’s beyond the door.
You will be a gleaming light for all to see.
One shaped and formed by the King of Glory.

