Tags

, , , , ,

Alright, it’s been a really long time since I have shared anything on here. My last post is from the birthday of my baby girl. I guess that’s a decent excuse as to why I haven’t sat down to write anything since. Well, hopefully, I can make more of a point to share things again from here on out. Today, I’d like to start with something that came to mind after reflecting on a parable throughout the morning hours.

It’s not a matter of when… But that He is returning some day. This is the thought I had after reflecting some on the Parable of the Ten Minas in Luke 19. I read the parable this morning shortly after waking up and showering, but didn’t have many thoughts about it then. Soon, as my morning went on, I kept thinking about how much I often keep what’s given to me laid away while being too afraid to use it because of what I might lose or possibly have to risk. Much like the third servant. As I thought about this I found myself wanting to look back in my Bible to see if the parable said anything about when the king (Jesus) would return. You see, I was wondering how much time I might have left to start doing something about using what I’ve been given. It was then that I had the thought I began this post with… It’s not a matter of when, but that He is.

Basically, this thought altered my perspective. Instead of being concerned about the when in order that I might feel better because of not missing the deadline or something, all that matters is that He is returning so I really should start using what’s been entrusted to me. Now, I don’t know if I am speaking to something you connect with as well. All I know is that often I think in terms of due dates and deadlines and have a tendency to feel better if I know how much time I have (ok, this isn’t always the case, especially when I have 5 things due right around the same time). All these years I have spent in school I am sure has had something to do with this. More often than not, knowing due dates and deadlines tells me that I don’t necessarily have to do, or at least start, this or that at the present time. It tells me that I have time so don’t worry about it. It gives me comfort to know I have a certain timeframe to finish things. What Jesus said to me this morning is that its not about all that, but rather that I am returning. Oddly, this was both a challenge and a comfort. A challenge to start using what I’ve been entrusted before it’s too late and I have nothing to show for it. And a comfort, knowing that its not a matter of when, but that He is, and I can start right now.

