Tags

, , , , ,

I just finished writing a draft of the first chapter of my own Credo. A Credo is a document encompassing all that you believe about God, Jesus, the Holy Spirit, theology, salvation, creation, and so on and so on. As I am finding out firsthand, this task is immensely difficult. However, the practice is also a good one as it forces me to critically think about all that I believe and put in on paper. So often we say that we believe in God and are Christians, but have a hard time formulating what that means in its entirety.

Have you ever thought about that yourself? Are you aware of what you believe and why? If you’re curious, take a look at how others have expressed their beliefs and what they think to be the essentials of Christianity. Go to http://www.rca.org/ (the homepage of the Reformed Church in America, the denomination I happen to be a part of), hover your cursor over the “about us” option, and click on “beliefs.” There you will find a brief description of the RCA’s basic beliefs. Follow the links to the confessions and creeds mentioned there (my favorite happens to be the heidelberg catechism) and you will catch a glimpse of what I am talking about when I say “Credo.” See where you may agree or disagree.

Ultimately, the Bible is the main source given to us to help shape what we believ . See my blog post just prior to this one for notes on how one might go about reading it. Goodnight to all. I’ve sat in front of my computer long enough for one day!

