Tags

, , , ,

I have sat around for longer than a week wondering what my first post should be about. What would be a good way to capture the concept of transcendence in Jesus Christ and spring this blog forward?

This morning, an answer came to me during my quiet time in the form of what is said in Isaiah 30:15…
“This is what the Sovereign Lord, the Holy One of Israel, says: ‘In repentance and rest is your salvation, in quietness and trust is your strength,…'”

This line sprung into my head after reading of Jesus in Mark 4:35-41 where he calms a storm while traveling with his disciples in a boat. As a storm looms over and comes upon the boat, Jesus is said to be in the stern sleeping on a cushion. The disciples hurriedly wake him asking, “Teacher, don’t you care if we drown? Jesus rises and rebukes the waves saying, “Quiet! Be still!” Jesus then turns to his disciples and says, “Why are you so afraid? Do you still have no faith?”

In this story, Jesus shows an immense amount of quietness and trust. He is caught sleeping while a great storm arose and threatened him, his disciples, and the others also traveling by boat in the sea. In this moment, Jesus is able to be unfazed by the tumult around him. He is able to rest in the Sovereign Lord, his Father, and not be diminished in his quietness and trust which is his strength.

Why I bring this up in this first blog is because I believe transcendence is wrapped up in this, Quietness and trust in the Lord our God! It is here we are to place our dependence and faith. He is to have our allegiance. First comes repentance and rest in salvation given, then from then on, quietness and trust in his Lordship shall be our strength.

There is a peculiar line that comes at the end of Isaiah 15:30 that I haven’t shared yet. Following quietness and trust is your strength it says, “but you would have none of it.” The people being spoken of here chose a life lived without the Sovereign Lord, the God of Israel. They decided against repentance and rest, and quietness and trust and it is possible for us to do the same. We can go forth living our lives with hardly a notion of God even remotely being with us. This can easily go unnoticed for life is pretty easily lived without any awareness or consciousness of God among us.

If you have been living a life like the one just described; a life without the awareness or consciousness of God among you. Let me tell you that transcedence and triumph in this life from the many storms and that which threatens us is only found via faith in God through Jesus Christ. This is where I have found strength to stand and live after many things I once trusted in left me tired and beaten. This is also where I found the strength to once again believe in things I earlier suppressed and ultimately step out in faith into the calling God placed before me in attending seminary. I don’t yet know the full picture of this calling, but I strive forward in quietness and trust in my Lord.

Further down in Isaiah 30, verse 18 reads, “Yet the Lord longs to be gracious to you; he rises to show you compassion. For the Lord is a God of justice. Blessed are all who wait for him!” The Lord stands with great compassion for you. Grace is available in Jesus Christ his Son. Come and believe. Be quiet; be still! For he is God (Psalm 46).

I end this post with a few lines from a poem I wrote in the summer of 2006. In it I referred to the topic shared here of quietness and trust. As you wait in the Lord, may He sustian you with much strength and lead you out of life’s labyrinths!

“There is a purpose for all that happens
You must keep your faith from becoming dampened
By faith you will be affirmed as righteous
The fruit of which will be quietness and confidence (Isaiah 32:17)
In this quietness and trust shall be your strength (Isaiah 30:15)

Those who hope in the Lord can sore out of any labyrinth (Isaiah 40:31)”

